The Reality of the Fantasy: How Swords and Armor Really Work

Dreams of the Shining Horizon

I’ve been a fan of fantasy fiction since I was a kid.  Starting at about twelve, I collected everything Tolkien-related I could afford.  I read my copies of the primary trilogy and The Silmarillion to tatters, then I sought out The Lost Tales, The Tolkien Illustrated Encyclopedia…if it had been thirteen years later, I would have had Fellowship action figures all over the place.

From there, I went on to Dragonlance, Forgotten Realms, Lloyd Alexander, David Eddings, R.A. Salvatore, Richard A. Knaak, Terry Brooks…I even went as far back as Ivanhoe.  The feeding frenzy only ended when I realized that the dark lords and scary monsters were my favorite part, and I sought out a genre that specialized in them.

Still, even today, when my primary focus is on Koontz, King and Lovecraft, I still appreciate a good fantasy.  Every movie made from Tolkien’s…

View original post 508 more words

This is the home of the Foil & Phaser writers workshop, a spin-off community website for fans of the Sword & Laser book club and podcast who want to develop their writing skills.

Posted in Non-Fiction, Writing Advice
Divide and Conquer: A collection of short stories from the workshops of Foil & Phaser for your Kindle or ePub reader.
Follow Foil & Phaser on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 297 other followers

Follow us on Twitter
October 2013
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
